National Association of Gypsy and Traveller Officers

National Association of Gypsy and Traveller Officers


"20th Anniversary Conference"  

NAGTO Committee Members 2017


NAGTO newletter
Sample newsletter

Other News

Mobile Homes Act 1983 becomes law for Council Traveller Sites - finally.

Councils across England who manage Traveller sites, including many with NAGTO members working for them, are busy preparing Written Statements by 27 May for every single current tenant or licensee. The Mobile Homes Act 1983, in a modified form, became law for these sites on 30 April, twenty-eight years after it became law for most other caravan sites.

Many authorities are sharing legal advice over all the implications. For details, email

Localism Bill and Travellers Panel Report: "A Big or Divided Society"
NAGTO gave evidence in February to a Panel considering the implications of the Localism Bill on Gypsy and Traveller site provision. The Panel, managed by the Travellers Aid Trust and funded by the Joseph Rowntree Trust, has just published its final report, at a launch in the Houses of Parliament on 11 May. Worth a read when it appears online. Interim report here.

Affordable Homes Programme - including Traveller Pitches
May 3, 2011, was the closing date for bids by Registered Providers (what were mostly Housing Associations) for their Affordable Homes "offers" for the years 2011 to 2015 inclusive.

For the first time, the programme included "Traveller Pitches".

First bids to be considered are "package bids" for up to whole county areas, which have often meant local authorities linking up with Registered Providers, to pursue much needed social pitches and social housing.

We wait to see how many bids there are, for the £60m available over the four years for pitches, with a maximum cost of £99k per pitch, and the Homes and Communities seeking "value for money" and not funding the whole costs of any site.

NAGTO members have been involved with some of the bids. HCA framework and more details.

HTML 4.01 TransitionalValidated CSS level 2.1

NAGTO Committee Members 2017

Bill Forrester

Steve Wilkinson
NAGTO Treasurer

Anthony Marchment
NAGTO Secretary
East Sussex

Stephen Andrews
NAGTO Media and Comms

Jim Alexander
East Sussex

Keren Wright

Matthew Bagley

Jacqui Green

Pauline Burton

Nick Willey